Information on the Audit Committee and the website

Information on the Audit Committee and the website

Welcome to the website of the HUS Audit Committee!

The annual report, written by the Council to assess how the goals set for HUS have been met as well as the profitability and appropriateness of its operations, is published on the website. Based on the assessment, recommendations are given to improve HUS operations. The website is in Finnish and Swedish.


The Audit Committee is a statutory body

The Audit Committee operates in accordance with the Local Government Act (410/2015 § 121). Its purpose is to assess the realisation of the goals set by the Council, as well as the profitability and appropriateness of HUS operations. In addition, the Audit Committee organises assessments of the municipal administration and economy, including the auditing of the accounts, and supervises the declarations of interest of the employee representatives and office-holders.

The members of the Audit Committee are political decision-makers who are elected every four years based on the results of the municipal elections.

Director of External Evaluation Unit Pirjo Räsänen ( is serving as the presenting officer of the Audit Committee.

The audit firm for HUS is KPMG Oy, and the responsible auditor is Juha Huuskonen (


Members of the HUS Audit Committee 2021- (since 14.10.2021)

Matti Parpala, Chairman (National Coalition Party, Helsinki), Hanna Varis, Vice-Chair (Social Democratic Party, Helsinki), Tuula Mohamud (Green Party, Helsinki), Kristiina Hakala (National Coalition Party, Hyvinkää), Teemu Purojärvi (Finns Party, Vantaa), Ari Oksanen (National Coalition Party, Sipoo), Ulf Kjerin (SFP, Kirkkonummi). 

Members of the HUS Audit Committee 2017-2021 (until 13.10.2021)

Seija Muurinen, Chairman (National Coalition Party, Helsinki), Hannu Tuominen, Vice-Chair (Green Party, Helsinki), Maija Anttila (Social Democratic Party, Helsinki), Tapani Eskola (Social Democratic Party, Porvoo), Heikki Kurkela (National Coalition Party, Kauniainen), Juri Linros (National Coalition Party, Kerava), Minttu Räty (Green Party, Vantaa).